Chevrolet Owners Club banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. This is my first time in the forum. My mother has a 5door 2012 Chevrolet Spark with central locking issues. In her words, “it began first by behaving a bit erratically and then one day just stopped”.
I’m not a mechanic but eager to save her some money.

I’ve trawled various other posts and fixes and have tried quite a few of them. I’ve got down to the point of replacing the solenoid. In the process of doing this I’ve discovered that if I leave the driver door solenoid unconnected, the rest of the doors including the boot will operate perfectly. So this is how I left it, she can still manually lock and unlock the drivers door which she was having to do anyway.
I also discovered (all doors in lock position) when replacing the top connector of the two(doesn’t matter which order I do it in) that all doors open as soon as I push the connector in. When all doors are in the open position nothing happens, they just remain open.
It’s at this point I find myself having to join the forum and post my issue as I have no idea what to do next. I assume it’s a wiring issue but don’t know? where do the wires go to inside the car? Am I missing something simple?
Any light shed on this would be a great help.
Thanks in advance.
——————————————————
In the interests of thoroughness I’ve given a fuller description of the issue and fixes I’ve tried below.

Problem: Pressing the unlock button on the key wouldn’t open the doors when they are locked. All doors including the boot would open and then close immediately. This has now changed to all doors except the driver door(which does nothing). Before, I could hear the unlock(clunk) noise in all the doors but again noin the driver door. All the door buttons(except drivers door) go up then immediately down. The driver door button does nothing now and there is no noise from the door.

I have tried:
Replaced the fob battery. (No joy)