Chevrolet Owners Club banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

Just found this forum so thought I would ask a question about the Chevrolet Captiva.
I bought a new one last year, the LTX 7 seat version. Overall I am very happy with it apart from 2 concerns;

1. Brakes
I had to have the front discs changed at 30,000 miles due them being warped. Pads on both the front and back were also changed.
Is this normal that front discs need to be changed after what is, for a diesel very low mileage. I am an Advanced Driver, Fully Qualified Motorcycling Instructor so i think I have a pretty good idea on how to drive. I tow a caravan but it is well within the cars towing limit.

Has anyone had the same problem?

2. Clutch

When I am reversing with the caravan attached the clutch gives off a very strong smell of burning. I do not ride the clutch or slip it for any length of time but still the smell of burning occurs.
I use the caravan mover most of the time now to save the clutch on the car.
It has been checked by the dealer and they reported no fault found but I cannot beleive its right when it gives off such a strong smell.

Anyone come across this?

Your comments would be gratefully received.

Craig Fox.

·
Registered
214 Posts
Hi Craig,

I doubt if your discs are warped...This is a rather common myth. Very often either the discs have not been checked for run-out on installation or the pads have not been bedded in properly.

Discs should be checked with a DTI (Dial Test Indicator) after installation with the contact faces of the hub and disc thoroughly cleaned.