Chevrolet Owners Club banner
1 - 20 of 51 Posts

·
Registered
12 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi there, I am a newbie to the Chevrolet Captiva Forum but have had my '11 plate Captiva 2.0L Diesel LS for about a year now and all in all, I am pretty pleased with it.

Over the last year the DPF light has come on a few times - this has been easily sorted by doing the usual 10min motorway journey to re-generate. Recently however, I did a 90mile motorway trip - pretty much non-stop, the car then sat in the baking sunshine all day (Scotland, strange I know). When we started our journey home, the DPF & MIL light came on together. I was confused why the DPF was onhaving done such an un-interrupted journey earlier in the day, however the DPF light went off, after about 20mins or so. The MIL however stayed on for the next 48hrs, but then went off and has remained off since?

Firstly - has anyone had a similar problem & does this sound unusual?

Typically the dealer was very unconcerned and advised they would charge me £40 for the priviledge of looking at it..........
I politely declined.

Cheers

·
Super Moderator
7,470 Posts
Hi Doug, Welcome to forum. The DPF 'collects' the rubbish that would otherwise go out end of exhaust. The fact you had just done a good journey doesnt in itself burn off what was 'collected'. Obviously the 'sensor' decided that it was time for a DPF burn when you next started. I am sure our ex motor trade forum members will elaborate / explain in more detail ifI've got it wrong.
Aussie Ed

·
Registered
9 Posts
Hi Doug

Aussie Ed is correct, sometimes to burn the rubbish off you need higher revs ie above 2500 and unless yours is different even on the motorway you may not be doing that.

Gald you are enjoying it .

Regards

·
Registered
476 Posts