Chevrolet Owners Club banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all. Complete newbie in need of help. I have a 2013 captiva ltz. I've been having problems for the last few months with my keyless entry key, says key not detected on 2 sets of keys. Batteries have been replaced and the local garage advised no fault codes. I today purchased odb2 device to help me detect any codes going forward. Today it happened again, key not detected, So I used my odb2 device but no error codes found. I really don't know what to do next, sometime I cannot start the car and sometimes the car doesn't unlock, any ideas?Edited by: Magpie1862

·
Registered
261 Posts
Hi Magpie, I'm not sure about this one.
Which version of Captiva do you have as there was the facelift to the series II Captiva in 2013; do you have LED rear light cluster & rhomboid exhaust tips, i.e. post-facelift?

I believe I read in another thread that the key sensor in the post-facelift Captiva is under the central storage "bin" between the front seats. Have you got anything in there ? this might interfere with the signal between key & detector.

Also "Local garage", are they familiar withChevrolets, or is it an independent operator ?

·
Registered
405 Posts
Please edit the topic to something that reflects the issue its regarding.
Edited by: A-Man

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Thanks for the rwply. Yes it's post facelift. The key does work in the central storage bin as a backup, found this out a week ago after being Stuck in my car for 30 minutes.

Yes was a Chevrolet dealer.

Thanks again, any help appreciated.

·
Super Moderator
7,286 Posts