Chevrolet Owners Club banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Just wondering what the MPG you get from your Matiz. Please post engine size and mileage and year.

To Kick off
Matiz S .8l 55 plate 100k 35MPG
Matiz SX 06 plate 80k 35MPG.
Figures produced by RAC black box.

I realise you might not have a reporting device on your car, so give it your best Guestimate.

·
Registered
15 Posts
Mpg

I have been tabbing both matiz's for 6 months, results fairly consistent:
800 => 35.4 mpg (town) 37.7 (rural/motorway)
1.0 => 37.2 mpg (town) 40.4 (rural/motorway)

a couple of occasions I noted 42.2 with the 1 litre, but sometimes it is difficult to gauge when the tank is absolutely full, especially with some 'frothy' pumps....

Intrigued to know if these are seen as 'good' or not...

·
Registered
15 Posts
both SE models...

Want a laugh? See the spec according to Parkers: https://www.parkers.co.uk/chevrolet/matiz/hatchback-2005-1/10-se-5d/specs/
It wasn't the range of the tank - I kind of look to 280-290, but the top speed...97mph! Wow! If it is true, then not only would I NOT want to be in the same car at that speed, but preferably on a totally different road to the numpty who tries!

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #4

·
Registered
343 Posts
At best I got about 37 miles per gallon.. the car is not very economical

·
Super Moderator
6,630 Posts
Interestingly I've recently purchased a secondhand (2017) Suzuki Ignis car 1242cc petrol engine. It is best described as a miniaturised SUV. (quirky)
Despite .... or maybe because of .... all the modern sensors sensing the sensors (!!) it is giving 45mpg around town and a whopping 60+mpg on a decent long run. This is an interesting example how modern engine technology advances over the past ten years or so are squeezing out better mpg and performance.