Chevrolet Owners Club banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
652 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Guys, there are more and more of you posting problems with your Captiva, that the dealer wants to charge you to investigate before they will chase Cheverolet for a Warranty job, or are being fobbed off saying it isnt covered under Warranty.
Providing you are still within the terms and conditions of the manufactures warranty, ie, within the mileage and time constraints, keep pressing them to fix the fault FREE OF CHARGE.

The car MUST be fit for purpose, and a clutch (for instance) that burns out around 25k miles is NOT fit for purpose for todays standards.

As for charging anyone to investigate, tell them where to go. They are supposed to investigate, then claim against the warranty. ONLY if it can be proven that the fault is due to neglect or normal wear and tear should they then expect you to pay.

I'm no lawyer, but I do manage multi-million pound projects for my company to clients in both the public and private sector, so I know my way around a contract. And trust me, in the vast majority of posts I've seen on this forum, regarding Chevrolet refusing to do work under warranty, I can say with high level of confidence, that they are trying to be the "big guy" and frighten you away. I also suspect that some of the "not warranty job" posts are NOT Cheverolet saying no, but the dealers saying this, hoping to get you to pay them to repair. Dont forget, they are franchises, not owned by Chevrolet, so what ever they rip you off for they pocket as profit. I dont think they would get the same price from Chevrolet, if the work was done under a warranty call.

So in summary.... Challenge ALL dealers if your car is still under warranty. If they dont play ball, go to another dealer or contact Chevrolet direct.

Hope this helps...Keep the faith

·
Registered
56 Posts