Chevrolet Owners Club banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Traction control, ABS, 4 wheel drive lights stuck on....

anybody had any experience with this?

Captiva 08 2.0 d ls

·
Registered
652 Posts
what does this mean???

adama67 said:
Traction control, ABS, 4 wheel drive lights stuck on....

anybody had any experience with this?

Captiva 08 2.0 d ls

Means megga bucks by the sounds of it....

Suggest you get a computer read out from a Diagnostics tool. Any decent garage should be able to do that.

I'm no mechanic, but for all those warning lights to come on, I bet you have a dodgy sensor.

·
Registered
997 Posts
Mr Richards has it I think- sounds like an ABS issue as the ABS and traction are controlled by the ABS and the 4wd is triggered into action by wheel slip, which is measured by the ABS sensors.

·
Registered
652 Posts
Was only joking about the mega bucks.... or at least I hope so.
As for the sensor... Had a weird problem a year or so back on the wife's car, a Corsa. She called me to say, the power steering had packed in, the speedo wasn't working and brakes seemed heavy.

That proved to be an ABS sensor on the wheel. I questioned this with the garage, as her little Corsa doesn't have ABS. But it seems they fit these ABS sensors as they are a good way of feeding speed and slip of the wheel to the cars "brain". In our case, was a way of driving the speedo, the assistance for power steering and brakes.

A Vauxhall dealer dealt with it, and I was surprised how little it cost to resolve. Biggest cost being dealership hourly rate.

Hope it proves to be something like this for you....

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
Thanks for the info (as I suspected).

Its booked in today, so I will find out soon what the "damage" will be......

I'll update this post when I have an answer/fix.

cheers.

(forgot to mention hill descent was on too - and the car drives as normal)

·
Registered
226 Posts
adama67 said: